# 56<sup>th</sup> Celebration of World Telecommunication and Information Society Day

The 56<sup>th</sup> Celebration of World Telecommunication and Information Society Day was held by The ITU Association of Japan (ITU-AJ) on May 17, 2024 at the Keio Plaza Hotel in Nishishinjuku, Tokyo. It was attended by approximately 110 guests from the Japanese government, telecommunications and broadcasting industries and other related organizations. A celebration party was held after the ceremony.

May 17 is the day in 1865 on which the first International Telegraph Convention was signed laying the foundation for today's International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Named "World Telecommunication and Information Society Day," ITU-AJ holds a ceremony in Japan to commemorate this anniversary in unison with ITU and other countries. Continuing a long tradition, the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ awards were presented at this ceremony for the 52nd time to honor the achievements of individuals who have been active in a wide range of information-communications and broadcasting fields in conjunction with international standardization and international cooperation.

At the ceremony, Mr. Koichi Watanabe, State-Minister for Internal Affairs and Communications, talked about the important role that Japan has come to play in deepening international cooperation, such as by holding the G7 Digital and Tech Ministers' Meeting and Internet Governance Forum (IGF) last year, and about Japan's ongoing commitment to making proactive contributions through ITU activities. In addition, Mr. Yoshifumi Tsuge, State Minister for Foreign Affairs, explained how ITU-AJ, by cooperating in initiatives led by the ITU, Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT), and other institutions and contributing to the development of telecommunications and broadcasting technologies in Japan and throughout the world, has come to

# The ITU Association of Japan Planning Department

expand its activities as a key facilitator of cooperation between Japan and those institutions. He also told us about the efforts of ITU-AJ in obtaining executive posts for Japan in international institutions. Continuing on, Dr. Hideyuki Tokuda, Chair of the ITU-AJ Award Selection Board, reported on this year's selections.

These talks were followed by the presentation ceremony for the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ awards. The MIC Minister's Award was presented to Dr. Yukihiro Nishida, Japan Broadcasting Corporation, who served as chairman of ITU-R SG6 for an eight-year period from 2015-2023, led initiatives for introducing new technologies such as AI and immersive media in broadcasting including the formulation of recommendations for an Ultra High Definition Television (UHDTV) video system and High-Dynamic Range Television (HDR-TV) system, and received the 75th Engineering, Science & Technology Emmy Award from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Next, the ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Maki Sugimoto, CEO of Holoeyes, Inc., professor at the Innovation Lab, Okinaga Research Institute, Teikyo University, and surgeon in the Department of HPB Surgery, Teikyo University School of Medicine, who has promoted the use of ICT technology in the medical field (surgery) and has recently been active in the development, provision, and spread of specific products for applying XR, VR, AR, and MR technologies to surgical procedures.

In addition, the ITU-AJ Accomplishment Award was presented to eight individuals and one organization and the ITU-AJ Encouragement Award was presented to 15 individuals. These awards honor contributions to ITU activities or ITU-related activities in Japan, contributions to implementing the Declaration



#### Commemorative group photo

of Principles and Plan of Action at the World Summit on the Information Society, contributions to international cooperation activities in the information-communications, broadcasting, and postal fields, and other achievements related to international activities in information-communications and broadcasting.

After the presentation ceremony, Dr. Maki Sugimoto, recipient of the ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award, gave the Anniversary Keynote Presentation under the theme of "Digital Transformation in Surgical Medicine."

This year, as well, we are grateful that the MIC Minister's Award and ITU-AJ awards could be presented at the ceremony venue. We wish all the award recipients great success and good health in the years to come, and we extend our gratitude to the award recommending organizations and to everyone who graciously supported this ceremony. Please visit the ITU-AJ website to view an outline and other photos of the ceremony.

https://www.ituaj.jp/?page\_id=31982 (Japanese only)

Dr. Yukihiro Nishida, MIC Minister's Award



Dr. Maki Sugimoto, ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award



Recipients of the ITU-AJ Accomplishment Award



Recipients of the ITU-AJ Encouragement Award



### List of Recipients of the MIC Minister's Award and 52<sup>nd</sup> ITU-AJ Awards

(Titles omitted) (Affiliations at time of recommendation)

MIC Minister's Award

Dr. NISHIDA Yukihiro (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)

ITU-AJ Special Achievement Award

"Dr. SUGIMOTO Maki (Holoeyes Inc. Innovation Lab, Teikyo University Okinaga Research Institute Department of HPB Surgery, Teikyo University School of Medicine )"

## ITU-AJ Accomplishment Awards

Mr. INOUE Masazumi (KDDI Foundation) Mr. IMATA Satoshi (KDDI CORPORATION) Ms. IWASAKI Junko (NEC Corporation) Dr. IWAMA Tsukasa (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology) Mr. GUNJI Yoshimasa (BHN Association) Dr. KONDO Yoshihiro (NTT Advanced Technology Corporation) Dr. NAKAMURA Hirotaka (NTT Innovative Devices Corporation) Dr. YAMADA Wataru (Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation) HAPS GLOBAL SPECTRUM STANDARDIZATION TEAM (SoftBank Corp.) ITU-AJ Encouragement Awards Mr. AGATA Mikiya (KDDI CORPORATION) Mr. UTSUNOMIYA Ryusuke (Rakuten Mobile, Inc.) Dr. UNNO Kyohei (KDDI Research, Inc.) Mr. KAWASAKI Junichi (KDDI Research, Inc.) Mr. SUGASAWA Koichi (NTT e-Asia Corporation) Mr. SUZUKI Yasuki (KDDI CORPORATION) Ms. SUYAMA Momoko (Japan Broadcasting Corporation) Mr. TAKEDA Daiki (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Ms. CHEN Wenjing (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Dr. NANBA Shinobu (KDDI CORPORATION) Dr. FUJII Katsumi (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology) Mr. FUSHIKI Masashi (Fujitsu Limited) Mr. MATSUKAWA Ryusuke (NTT DOCOMO, INC.) Mr. YAMAZAKI Hiroto (Japan International Cooperation Agency) Dr. WATANABE Junji (Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation)